Product Dictionary

Explosive materials

Explosive materials

Explosive materials and ammunition – what is the right way to behave?

The ‘normal’ consumer does not come into contact with such products ? As a rule, this is true, but things often turn out differently than you think.

Ammunition from the Second World War is rarely found nowadays, but used ammunition from the military or especially the hunting sector turns up again and again at recycling yards in Luxembourg. Even a hand grenade, obviously from the Balkans, was found at a Luxembourg recycling yard.

More often, however, chemical substances are delivered to SDK or resource centres that are explosive or contain explosive substances. These can be fireworks that have not been used for some reason or chemical substances such as picric acid from laboratories, including school laboratories.

The dangers resulting from explosives and ammunition do not really need to be pointed out. They are always classified as dangerous. Regularly around New Year’s, one finds news of serious injuries caused by fireworks.

Explosives and ammunition can be triggered by shock, heat and static discharges. Not only when it comes to ammunition, where the projectile effect is involved, is there a danger to life . Explosions can produce toxic gases, oxygen is extracted from the air, the resulting high temperatures can start fires, and the overpressure can cause hearing damage.

What should you be aware of when you come across unknown explosives and ammunition?

Do not attempt to tamper with explosives and ammunition or transport them yourself if you find them anywhere. Leave them at the point of origin/findings. Do not take them to a resource centre or SDK as they are not equipped to receive explosives.

The service responsible for safe disposal is the Service de Déminage de l’Armée Luxembourgeoise (SEDAL). It can be reached via the police telephone number 113 or directly by calling 26 33 22 27.
The SEDAL is on call 24 hours a day. The service is free of charge. Information is treated confidentially.

Information on correct behaviour is also available from the SDK on telephone number 488 621 1.

The explosion cloud for danger of explosion

Produktlexikon

Explosive Stoffe

Explosive Stoffe

Explosive Stoffe und Munition – wie verhalte ich mich richtig ?

Mit solchen Produkten kommt der ‚normale’ Konsument nicht in Berührung ? In der Regel ist das richtig, aber oft kommt es anders als man denkt.

Munition aus dem 2. Weltkrieg findet man heutzutage zwar nur noch selten, aber gebrauchte Munition aus dem Militärbereich oder vor allem dem Jagdbereich taucht immer wieder auf Recyclinghöfen in Luxemburg auf. Sogar eine Handgranate, offensichtlich aus dem Balkan stammend, wurde auf einem Luxemburger Recyclinghof gefunden.

Öfter werden aber bei SuperDrecksKëscht® oder Ressourcencentern chemische Substanzen angeliefert, die explosiv sind oder explosive Substanzen enthalten. Dies können Feuerwerkskörper sein, die aus irgend einem Grund nicht benutzt wurden oder aber chemische Substanzen wie z.B. Pikrinsäure aus Laboratorien, u.a. auch Schullaboratorien.

Auf die Gefahren, die durch Explosivstoffe und Munition resultieren, braucht man eigentlich nicht hinzuweisen. Sie sind immer als gefährlich einzustufen. Regelmässig findet man um Neujahr Nachrichten von schweren Verletzungen durch Feuerwerkskörper.

Explosivstoffe und Munition können durch Schock, Hitze und statische Entladungen ausgelöst werden. Nicht nur wenn es sich um Munition handelt, bei der es um die Geschosswirkung geht, besteht Lebensgefahr . Bei Explosionen können giftige Gase entstehen, der Luft wird Sauerstoff entzogen, durch die entstehenden hohen Temperaturen kann Feuer ausgelöst werden, durch den Überdruck können Gehörschäden entstehen.

Was sollten Sie beachten, wenn Sie auf unbekannte Explosivstoffe und Munition stossen ?
Versuchen Sie Explosivstoffe und Munition nicht zu manipulieren oder selbst zu transportieren, wenn Sie diese irgendwo finden. Belassen Sie sie am Anfall-/Fundort. Bringen Sie sie nicht zu einem Ressourcenzenter oder zur SDK, da diese für die Annahme explosiver Stoffe nicht ausgerüstet sind.

Der zuständige Dienst für eine sichere Entsorgung ist der Service de Déminage de l’Armée Luxembourgeoise (SEDAL). Dieser ist erreichbar über die Telefonnummer 113 der Polizei oder direkt unter der Telefonnummer 26 33 22 27.
Der SEDAL hat eine 24 h Bereitschaft. Der Dienst ist gratis. Informationen werden vertraulich behandelt.

Informationen zum korrekten Verhalten gibt Ihnen auch die SuperDrecksKëscht® unter der Telefonnummer 488 621 1.

Die explodierende Bombe für explosive Produkte