Product Dictionary

Explosive materials

Explosive materials

Explosive materials and ammunition – what is the right way to behave?

The ‘normal’ consumer does not come into contact with such products ? As a rule, this is true, but things often turn out differently than you think.

Ammunition from the Second World War is rarely found nowadays, but used ammunition from the military or especially the hunting sector turns up again and again at recycling yards in Luxembourg. Even a hand grenade, obviously from the Balkans, was found at a Luxembourg recycling yard.

More often, however, chemical substances are delivered to SDK or resource centres that are explosive or contain explosive substances. These can be fireworks that have not been used for some reason or chemical substances such as picric acid from laboratories, including school laboratories.

The dangers resulting from explosives and ammunition do not really need to be pointed out. They are always classified as dangerous. Regularly around New Year’s, one finds news of serious injuries caused by fireworks.

Explosives and ammunition can be triggered by shock, heat and static discharges. Not only when it comes to ammunition, where the projectile effect is involved, is there a danger to life . Explosions can produce toxic gases, oxygen is extracted from the air, the resulting high temperatures can start fires, and the overpressure can cause hearing damage.

What should you be aware of when you come across unknown explosives and ammunition?

Do not attempt to tamper with explosives and ammunition or transport them yourself if you find them anywhere. Leave them at the point of origin/findings. Do not take them to a resource centre or SDK as they are not equipped to receive explosives.

The service responsible for safe disposal is the Service de Déminage de l’Armée Luxembourgeoise (SEDAL). It can be reached via the police telephone number 113 or directly by calling 26 33 22 27.
The SEDAL is on call 24 hours a day. The service is free of charge. Information is treated confidentially.

Information on correct behaviour is also available from the SDK on telephone number 488 621 1.

The explosion cloud for danger of explosion

Dictionnaire des produits

Substances explosives

Substances explosives

Substances et munitions explosives – comment réagir correctement ?

Le consommateur « normal » n’entre habituellement pas en contact avec de tels produits, mais cela peut tout de même arriver, de surprenantes manières.

Les munitions de la Seconde Guerre mondiale sont rares de nos jours, mais les munitions usagées du secteur militaire ou, surtout, du secteur de la chasse apparaissent régulièrement dans les chantiers de recyclage au Luxembourg. Une grenade à main, apparemment originaire des Balkans, a même été retrouvée dans un centre de recyclage luxembourgeois.

Le plus souvent, cependant, SuperDrecksKëscht® ou les centres de recyclage réceptionnent les substances chimiques explosives ou contenant des substances explosives. Il peut s’agir de feux d’artifice qui n’ont pas été utilisés pour une raison quelconque ou de substances chimiques telles que l’acide picrique provenant de laboratoires, y compris de laboratoires scolaires.

Il n’est en fait pas nécessaire de distinguer les dangers qui résultent des explosifs et des munitions, car ils sont tous classés comme dangereux. Les blessures graves causées par des feux d’artifice sont fréquentes autour de Nouvel An.

Les munitions et les explosifs peuvent être déclenchés par des chocs, de la chaleur et des décharges électrostatiques. Lorsqu’il s’agit de munitions, il y a danger de mort du fait de l’effet projectile. Les explosions peuvent produire des gaz toxiques, l’air peut être privé d’oxygène, la surpression peut endommager l’audition, et les températures élevées qui résultent des explosions peuvent déclencher un incendie.

À quoi devez-vous faire attention si vous trouvez des munitions ou des explosifs inconnus ?
N’essayez pas de manipuler ou de transporter des explosifs ou des munitions si vous en trouvez, mais laissez-les sur place. Ne les apportez pas dans un centre de recyclage ou à la SDK car ils ne sont pas équipés pour accepter les substances explosives.

Pour éliminer ces substances explosives en toute sécurité, il faut joindre le Service de Déminage de l’Armée Luxembourgeoise (SEDAL) au numéro de téléphone de la police 113 ou directement au 26 33 22 27.
La SEDAL est en veille 24h/24. Le service est gratuit. Les informations sont traitées de manière confidentielle.

La SuperDrecksKëscht® peut également vous donner des informations sur le comportement à adopter au 488 621 1.

La bombe qui explose pour les substances explosives